Our Governors

Governance Structure and  Members

Governor Role/Responsibility

Nicola Fountain

Headteacher - all committees

Fiona Newitt

Chairperson to March 2025 

Shayne Major

Vice Chairperson to July 2025


Fiona Newitt (Chair)

Appointed Co-opted Governor to March 2025. Roles: Safer Recruit, Teaching & Learning, Standards & Progress. Behaviour. SEND.

Shayne Major (Vice) 

Appointed Co-opted Governor to July 2025. Role: Health & Safety/Premises. Promotion

Claire Cross

Elected Parent Governor to Sept 2023. Role: Maths, Science, Languages.

Abi Ewan 


Co-opted Governor to July 2025. Roles: Safeguarding, Pupil Premium, PSHE & RSE. Education visits.


Pay & Performance Committee

Fiona Newitt & Claire Cross

Advisor/Chair Mrs. Joanne Sanchez-Thompson



Sarah Munday

Co-opted Governor to Sept 2023. EYFS.

Amanda Cordell-Edwards

Elected School Staff Governor to Sept 2025. Roles: Staff Governor 

Craig Moores

Parent Governor to July 2026. Role:  Art/DT, IT/Computing, Music, Humanities & PE



Foundation Governors

Hannah Gilkes Appointed Foundation Governor to January 2025. Role: R.E, SMSC & SIAMS. Reading & Writing

Previous Governors within the last 12 months

Sarah-Jane Major until March 2023

Andy Betts until May 2022

Rev. Heather Wilson until July 2021

Paul Sage until May 2021

Register of Governors' Interests

At the beginning of each school year Governors sign a Register of Interests - both Business and Financial.

For 2021/22 the following were declared:

Shayne Major is on the Rothersthorpe Parish Council Committee and Village Hall Committee.

Andy Betts and Claire Cross have children at Rothersthorpe School. Shayne Major has a grand-daughter at the School.

Abi Ewen are members of the PCC - Parochial Church Council

At every committee meeting, Governors also declare any interest in items on that meeting's agenda.

An overview of termly Governor committee meeting minutes are published in the school monthly newsletter. Full copies of Governor minutes are available on request from the School Office.

Governor Attendance Record for Academic Year

Year 2021/22



Year 2019/20 and 2020/21

100% attendance all Governors online. (Due to pandemic)


Year 2018/19:

Nicola Fountain - Attended 19/19 meetings

Fiona Newitt - Attended 12/12 meetings

Karen Kissane - Attended 11/12 meetings

Andy Betts - Attended 8/10 meetings

Abi Ewen – Attended 8/9 meetings

Shayne Major – Attended 8/9 meetings

Paul Sage – Attended 8/8 meetings

Rev Heather Wilson – Attended 7/8 meetings

Amanda Cordell-Edwards - Attended 6/9 meetings

Richard Parkin – Attended – 7/9 meetings

Carol Watt - Attended 9/9 meetings

Governance Information